Entertainment in London

Entertainment1

Time Out London (@TimeOutLondon on Twitter) is an up-to-date guide of what to do in London and could be useful in finding out about activities all over London.

http://www.timeout.com/london

London Theatre Guide for information on theatre locations and plays: http://www.londontheatre.co.uk/

To find tickets for events: Ticket master is a database that you can you use at the website http://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/

Exhibitions

There are many free or paid exhibitions in London including in museums or exhibition centres, ranging from art to music.

Music

There are many events ranging from opera to ballet, from musicals to concerts or live music jazz bars.

For operas, check out Royal Opera House which is the most impressive opera house in London http://www.roh.org.uk/

For theatre, check out the National Theatre which have ancient and contemporary plays throughout the year: http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/

Also, if you like Shakespeare, check out Shakespeare’s Globe which have Shakespeare’s plays in 16-17th century theatre: http://www.shakespearesglobe.com/

For musicals you may check:

http://www.londontheatre.co.uk/londontheatre/whatson/musicals.htm

Book of Mormon

If you stop by the kiosk desks at the Leicester Square (heart of West End musicals) for musical tickets, they have discounted prices. You have to book in advance for some very popular musicals like ‘Book of Mormon’ and ‘Matilda’ as the tickets are very difficult to get due to high demand.

Dalston area is popular with its jazz bars as well as Turkish-Kurdish musical/cultural activities.

Cinemas

Entertainment3

For cinemas, the West End cinemas are generally expensive so try to find out discounted cinemas around the Notting Hill area such as two tickets for one ticket price with Orange discount on specific days.

If you are not a big fan of Hollywood movies and looking for an alternative screen for independent movies British Film Institute (BFI) Cinema in Southbank is the right address for you. BFI shows classics, documentaries and contemporary films of world cinema.

http://www.bfi.org.uk/

Similarly, Curzon Soho’s screens host a variety of independent movies along with some after movie Q&A sessions.

http://www.curzoncinemas.com/

Moreover cinema chains such as Odeon and Vue offer special deals for students or customers of certain brands on pre-determined days of the week.

Museums

Majority of London’s museums do not have an entrance fee. Permanent collections can be seen for free. However most temporary collection/exhibitions are charged (10-20 pound).

Holborn- Russell Square Area

British Museum http://www.britishmuseum.org/

South Kensington

Natural History Museum http://www.nhm.ac.uk/

Victoria Albert Museum www.vam.ac.uk

Science Museum http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/

Westminster

Imperial War Museum http://www.iwm.org.uk/

Parliament http://www.parliament.uk/visiting/ (you need to book in advance for visiting inside the parliament)

Buckingham Palace http://www.royal.gov.uk/theroyalresidences/buckinghampalace/buckinghampalace.aspx

Waterloo-Trafalgar Square

Tate Modern Museum http://www.tate.org.uk/ (also includes information about Tate Britain)

National Gallery www.nationalgallery.org.uk/

National Portrait Gallery www.npg.org.uk

Requires buying tickets:

Churchill War Rooms http://www.iwm.org.uk/visits/churchill-war-rooms

Historic Royal Places

Tower of London http://www.hrp.org.uk/TowerOfLondon/

Kensington Palace http://www.hrp.org.uk/KensingtonPalace/

London Eye http://www.londoneye.com/

Westminster Abbey http://www.westminster-abbey.org/

St Paul’s Cathedral http://www.stpauls.co.uk/

Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail